Mauritius Public Holidays (2020)

Mauritius Public Holidays

We all love public holidays! In this section, you will be aware of the dates of all public holidays in Mauritius. This will help both the locals and foreigners for upcoming events. Refer to the list below for all public holidays’ dates for 2020. In addition, the list will be updated every year. So, bookmark this page for further reference. If there is a mistake, do not forget to contact the webmaster.

The Dates

1 January Wednesday: New Year’s Day
2 January Thursday: New Year’s Day
25 January Saturday:Chinese New Year
1 February Saturday: Abolition of Slavery
8 February Saturday : Thaipoosam Cavadee
21 February Friday: Maha Shivaratee
12 March Thursday: Independence Day
25 March Wednesday: Ougadi
1st May Friday: Labour Day
24 May Sunday: Eid Ul Fitr (Depending the moon)
15 August Saturday: Assomption
23 August Sunday: Ganesh Chaturthi
2 November Monday: Arrival of Indentured Laborers
14 November Saturday: Divali
25 December Friday: Christmas

Conclusion

Mauritius is among the rarest countries worldwide, to have such mixed religious and cultural events as public holidays. This is why this country is unique and beautiful. To conclude, it leads to greater understandings. Diversity is the key!

Ali J

I am a hiker, explorer, cyclist and humanist! Feel free to follow on social media and contact me for any questions.